There are several things you can configure about character logins.
Table of Contents
To configure the Connect Screen:
The connect screen can contain all the usual MUSH formatting codes (including color!), but you don’t need to put in %r for linebreaks or %b for spaces. The game will respect what’s in the file as it appears.
By default, the game will present a Terms of Service file to new users. You can disable this by setting
use_terms_of_service, as explained below.
To configure the Terms of Service:
The TOS can contain all the usual MUSH formatting codes, but you don’t need to put in %r for linebreaks. The game will respect what’s in the file.
tos/reset command in-game. Everyone will be forced to acknowledge the new terms of service the next time they log in.
To configure the rest of the Login plugin:
The default behavior allows players to create their characters right from the login screen. You might want to disable this if you have a roster-only game or require email registration or an invitation.
allow_web_registration, described below.
To disable character creation from the login screen:
allow_creation to false.
creation_not_allowed_message. If no message is set, players will just see a generic message.
By default, players can create characters from the Web Portal. If you wish to lock this down, you can set
false. If you allow web registration, be sure to configure Recapta to prevent bots, as explained below.
Set this to
true if you want to require people to log in before they can access the Web Portal at all. Often coupled with
allow_web_registration to require people to create a character from the game itself instead of registering on the Web Portal.
During development, maintenance, or other special times, you might want to disable player logins.
The quickest and broadest way to do that is the
disable_nonadmin_logins option. Set it to true and only admins can log in.
If you want more fine-grained control, you can use the Roles System to control which roles have the ‘login’ permission. By default, this permission is assigned to the ‘everyone’ role, meaning all characters can log in. During development, you may want to remove it from everyone and add it only to ancillary staff like builders or wiki developers.
login_not_allowed_message is shown whenever people can’t log in.
The system looks for characters with the role set in
guest_role when finding a guest character. If you don’t want to allow guests, set that role to blank. You can also optionally set
guest_disabled_message to explain why guests are disabled.
You can disable the terms of service completely by setting
use_terms_of_service to false.
This cron job controls when the login activity tracker is updated. By default it’s hourly. You shouldn’t change this.
This cron job controls how often the site blacklist is updated. By default it’s bi-monthly. You shouldn’t need to change this.
This cron job controls how often the old notifications are cleared out. By default it’s monthly. You shouldn’t need to change this. You can also configure how long old notifications are kept before they’re deleted.
By default, guests are assigned in alphabetical order, so Guest-1 logs on first, then Guest-2, etc. Changing this setting to ‘true’ causes them to be assigned in random order. You might want this if you change your guest names to something else, like “Blue-Guest”, “Red-Guest”, etc.
Controls how long someone is in timeout after being booted. This is meant as a short deterrent to discourage trolls, and is not meant as a long-term penalty. Remember that in the default configuration, all approved players are allowed to boot (to protect each other from disruptive guests/newbies), so you probably don’t want to make it more than a few minutes.